Page 1 of 1

How to use m3u8 files

Posted: 13 Nov 2018, 10:53
by AlgusDark
Hi, first of all, thanks for this application, It's excellent :)

Second, I have some m3u8 files with several TS video.

Here is what I have:

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=1598573,RESOLUTION=1280x720,FRAME-RATE=25.000,CODECS="avc1.64001f,mp4a.40.2"
http://url/playlist_720p.m3u8
#EXT-X-STREAM-INF:PROGRAM-ID=1,BANDWIDTH=746652,RESOLUTION=854x480,FRAME-RATE=25.000,CODECS="avc1.4d401e,mp4a.40.2"
http://url/playlist_480p.m3u8


And one playlist_720p.m3u8 looks like

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXT-X-TARGETDURATION:12
#EXT-X-ALLOW-CACHE:YES
#EXT-X-PLAYLIST-TYPE:VOD
#EXT-X-VERSION:3
#EXT-X-MEDIA-SEQUENCE:1
#EXTINF:10.302,
seg-1-v1-a1.ts
#EXTINF:10.427,
seg-2-v1-a1.ts
#EXTINF:9.968,
seg-3-v1-a1.ts
#EXT-X-ENDLIST


Both playlist are the same video but with different quality. I'm able to see the video but I'm not able to seek. There is any way to achieve this?

Thanks!

Re: How to use m3u8 files

Posted: 13 Nov 2018, 13:53
by admin
By default, all sources with ".m3u8" extension considered as streams, and the UI of the app goes to the live stream mode.
To change it for using with video recordings there is an attribute type="video", you should specify it in the playlist file. (or add it to the tab "My videos" on the playlist editor )

Example of external M3U playlist:

Code: Select all

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:0 type="stream", My live video stream
http://example.com/live.m3u8
#EXTINF:0 type="video", My video record
http://example.com/record.m3u8


The first item will be displayed as live stream, only "stop" button will be available.
The second one will be displayed as video record with the option to seek and "pause" button.

Please note, you should not care about the nested ".m3u8" files like "playlist_720p.m3u8"

Re: How to use m3u8 files

Posted: 13 Nov 2018, 17:05
by AlgusDark
Thanks. It works now :D

Btw, there is any way to put more than one subtitle and change between them?

Thanks!

Re: How to use m3u8 files

Posted: 13 Nov 2018, 17:14
by admin
Currently, no.
This feature has not been requested previously.
We may add it to our plans of improvements for the future releases.

Re: How to use m3u8 files

Posted: 14 Nov 2018, 09:15
by GrazinaPT
hey admin, and what about eh black screen error with only just sound?

admin wrote:Currently, no.
This feature has not been requested previously.
We may add it to our plans of improvements for the future releases.