How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

SS IPTV App for LG Smart TV discussion
Post Reply
admin
Администратор
Администратор
Posts: 412
Joined: 15 Apr 2013, 21:45
TV Model: Samsung, Sony, Hisense, LG
Great Britain

How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by admin »

In some cases you may see "Failed to load remote content" instead of your playlist's content.

Why it happens?
Some TVs strictly follow web security rules called CORS*.

The basic communication illustrated on the following request-response scheme:
Image

If the response from "server with playlist" hasn't CORS headers the application can't get access of the playlist.
In this case app shows "Failed to load remote content".

Which TV models affected this?
Known examples: VEWD OS based, non-Android Sony, Philips, etc.
SS IPTV on LG, Samsung, Android TV is not affected this. (TV doesn't check CORS)

How to fix?
Add following header to HTTP response of the server with playlist:

Code: Select all

Access-Control-Allow-Origin: * 

Repeats of the same headers is not allowed.

See more:
https://ss-iptv.com/en/operators/creating-playlist

Important
If you do not understand what it is about and how to use it, contact your content provider and provide it with this instruction.

Alternative?
Proxy
Requirements:
- Web Server (with php as example).

Example of the proxy in PHP (proxy.php):

Code: Select all

<?php
header("Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *");
if (isset($_GET['url'])) {
    echo file_get_contents($_GET['url']);
}
else {
    http_response_code(404);
}


For example, let's suppose that proxy.php is located by the address:
http://my.webserver.com/proxy.php

For example, your playlist URL is:
http://example.com/playlist.m3u

Do URL encoding** and put the result as hash parameter "proxy" of your playlist address:
http://example.com/playlist.m3u#proxy=http%3A%2F%2Fmy.server.com%2Fproxy.php

These steps eliminate "Fail to load remote content" issue.


Why sometimes playlist accessible and sometimes not?
When the app can't download playlist directly it asks to do that our app server.
But, even in this case we receive complaints that playlist can't be accessed.

Every our research shows that server with playlist is unavailable for our server, in other terms our server IP is banned from the content provider side manually or automatically.
If the content provider unban our IP it starts working again.

For technical proof, you can write to support@ss-iptv.com and share the link with the issue.

To fix the root cause of the issue and allows every TV direct access to the playlist:

Code: Select all

Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *



---
* - https://www.w3.org/TR/cors/

** How to do URL Encode:
1. https://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/dencoder/
2. Put your proxy server address.
3. Click "Encode" button.
Best Wishes,
Administrator of SS IPTV Forum

pmsilva75
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 8
Joined: 21 Jan 2020, 18:09
TV Model: Samsung
Portugal

Re: How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by pmsilva75 »

Hi, I new in this and can you please tell me what I have to do to solve this problem (failed to load remote content)
I have my external playlist (m3u file) in the google drive and the url that I put in SSIPTV external playlist is like this:
https://drive.google.com/uc?id=XXXXXXXX ... t=download

Does I need to change of the file m3u?
#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:-1 channelId="xxxx"
http://aaaaa/bbbbbbb/cccccc/2766
or
Does I have to change the url?

Thanks for all the help.

User avatar
Eugene
Project Leader
Project Leader
Posts: 5902
Joined: 15 Apr 2013, 22:54
TV Model: LG 47LM960V, LG LB679V
Location: Санкт-Петербург
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:
Russia

Re: How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by Eugene »

admin wrote:Important
If you do not understand what it is about and how to use it, contact your content provider and provide it with this instruction.


This topic is only for those who understand the basic concepts of server administration. If you don't, there is no sense to read it and to ask anything.

pmsilva75
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 8
Joined: 21 Jan 2020, 18:09
TV Model: Samsung
Portugal

Re: How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by pmsilva75 »

ok, but off topic, there is something I can do to fix it?

admin
Администратор
Администратор
Posts: 412
Joined: 15 Apr 2013, 21:45
TV Model: Samsung, Sony, Hisense, LG
Great Britain

Re: How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by admin »

Hi,

Elizabeth865 wrote:It's SS IPTV issue.


Unfortunately, it's not SS IPTV issue.
We are glad to fix the issue, but we can't modify response of the remote server to fit all TV vendor requirements.
The response of remote server should be configured by its owner or admin.

Please read the end of the topic post (updated):
Why sometimes playlist accessible and sometimes not?

If you need profs or technical support, please write to support@ss-iptv.com
Best Wishes,
Administrator of SS IPTV Forum

aehustings
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Apr 2020, 14:37
TV Model: Digihome
Great Britain

RE: Cant load playlist

Post by aehustings »

hi there I have a digihome tv with the ss-iptv app on it. try to add the playlist m3u URL I have but it keeps coming up on the website next to it with the word check. but a little confused what I need to add to this to make it work. I hope you can help me out.

thanks
Alan

hosseinyadollahi
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 May 2020, 13:47
TV Model: LG
Iran

Re: How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by hosseinyadollahi »

HI

my playlist was working ok
but today it said the server request authentication
the user and password is in link
then i enter my user and password
it doesnt work

admin
Администратор
Администратор
Posts: 412
Joined: 15 Apr 2013, 21:45
TV Model: Samsung, Sony, Hisense, LG
Great Britain

Re: How to fix: "Failed to load remote content"

Post by admin »

hosseinyadollahi wrote:my playlist was working ok
but today it said the server request authentication


Could you make a video with the issue and send it to support@ss-iptv.com for analysis.
Best Wishes,
Administrator of SS IPTV Forum

Post Reply